top of page
  • Writer's pictureLogan Fetzer

Behind the Photo 3

You know the drill.


So if I'm being honest, this photo is mainly interesting on accident. It was July 2nd, 2019, and I was working on my long exposure lightning photography. I was mainly shooting pictures of my car, and thought you know what, I don't really shoot enough nature. Let's set up on that tree. 50mm lens, f1.8, with an 8 second exposure. As soon as my long exposure clicked, I knew I had a winner. The lightning that filled the cloud in those 8 seconds just happened to illuminate perfect parallels in the cloud to the shape of the tree, and I just couldn't have been happier.

With how unique the photo was, I wanted to go pretty wild in post production. We've got some dark masks on the top and bottom of the frame, blues are COMPLETELY shifted over to teal, and I crushed all of the greens out of the photo, and then decreasing the luminance on the area, just giving the photo an all around dark, mysterious vibe.

It doesn't represent anything, it doesn't tell a story, but man, I think it looks cool as hell.

3 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page